The beginning of the end?

There is a huge shift happening in terms of how journalism is practiced, it has become more interactive and there is alot of emphasis on online journalism. I haven’t quite decided whether I like the idea of it or not. I use the internet every day for a few hours, and during that time I like to access my news. As I mentioned in my previous post, I religiously check the Independent’s website and also RTE and Sky News. I wouldn’t pay for my news online. That it probably why I rarely check the Irish Times website, as it is partly done on subscription.

For people of my generation, the transition between journalism and the internet is a natural one as we have been rared on technology. The internet, mobile phones, mp3 players. I can’t really remember a time when one of those was not in my life. Although it is a natural progression, I don’t know if it is a good one. In the online journalism world, money is made through advertisement, not sales. What will happen to the humble newspaper? In a December 2009 article on the Guardians website, journalist Roy Greenslade tries to find why newspaper sales have declined.

ABC figures 2000-2009.

‘The editorial content is all wrong, with too many columnists, too much feature material, and not enough hard news. The editorial staffs are too small (and too sober). There is too much to read, which puts off readers. Print can’t compete with 24-hour news on television and radio. In the past decade, the overwhelming majority of journalists believe the internet is to blame, plus the growing availability of information through mobile phones. That, at least, makes sense.’
The main reason that I feel newspaper sales have declined [apart from the demon internet!] is because of the sheer amount of information and news out there. As Greenslade said ‘Print can’t compete with 24-hour news on television and radio.’ Radio and television are immediate resources, they can relay news in minutes, where newspapers can go out of date very quickly and easily. Although I love a newspaper, I love the feel and the smell of it,  I like to be able to physically hold it, but I cannot see how it can possibly compete with online journalism and with television and radio.
So is it the begininng of the end? Greenslade says ‘There is life in print – but it is ebbing away slowly without any hint of recovery.’ I hope this isn’t the case.
There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

