Tweet tweet.

Twitter. The one word that seems to dominate at the minute.

To be honest, I never could get my head around it, I’m probably still a bit confused to be honest. I do have a twitter account. I have 21 followers. Not a whole lot to be honest.

At first I was sceptical about the whole thing. 140 characters to write your feeling and thought, for me that just isn’t enough! I still don’t understand why people put the hash symbol before certain words (I actually can’t find the hash key on my keyboard…) and I don’t understand why people put an @ before peoples names. But other people understand, and that’s good enough for me.

Everyone who is anyone has a twitter, from RTE News, BBC News to our own College View, and DCUfm. But why?

Its appeal is that it is the most up-to-date way of relaying information. No wonder that it’s become the fastest way of breaking news. If you are in search of a story, make sure you ‘follow’ the right people, such as RTE News, and away you go. There are of course some downsides, as the more people you follow, the more tweets that crowd up your home page. I’ve been told that it’s possible to get something called Tweetdeck that manages your tweet intake, but I guess I’m not that fancy yet.

Twitter has revolutionised how we break news and sport, giving up to the minute accounts. Twitter is the future… Until something faster comes along!

Update: While Twitter has its merits, it also has its downsides. The news of the sad passing of broadcaster Gerry Ryan was largely broken through Twitter. Do you agree with this? Some of his family hadn’t even been contacted. Is this fair?

Image: http://www.visitbrisbane.com.au/Resources/IMG/Icons/Twitter_45x45.png

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

